CSA Canadian Securities Administrators

Canadian Securities Regulators Adopt Amendments to Prospectus Rules

Feb 28 2013

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) announced today amendments to National Instrument (NI) 41-101 General Prospectus Requirements, NI 44-101 Short Form Prospectus Distributions, NI 44-102 Shelf Distributions, NI 81-101 Mutual Fund Prospectus Disclosure, and related policies and consequential amendments.  The CSA are amending the prospectus rules and their related companion policies to address user feedback and the CSA’s experience with the prospectus rules since the implementation of the general prospectus rule, NI 41-101, on March 17, 2008.    

“The CSA constantly reviews the effectiveness of its rules, regulations and policies to ensure they are meeting the needs of both investors and market participants,” said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission.  “These changes clarify, modify or eliminate aspects of the prospectus rules to make the process more streamlined and accessible to users.”

The amendments are intended to:

The amendments and related materials can be found on CSA members’ websites.  In some jurisdictions, ministerial approvals are required to implement the amendments.  If all such approvals are obtained, the amendments will take effect on May 14, 2013.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission
Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission
Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers
Richard Gilhooley
British Columbia Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission
Wendy Connors-Beckett
New Brunswick Securities Commission

506 643-7745
Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Dean Murrison
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan
Janice Callbeck
The Office of the Superintendent
Securities, P.E.I.
Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation Division of
Newfoundland and Labrador
Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent
of Securities
Louis Arki
Nunavut Securities Office
Donn MacDougall
Northwest Territories Securities Office