For Immediate Release
July 7, 2016

Canadian Securities Regulators Release Latest Three-Year Business Plan

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today released its Three-Year Business Plan for the period from April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2019.

“The Plan sets out, in a clear and comprehensive manner, the priorities that the CSA has committed to pursue over the next three years,” said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. “While many of our priorities are tied to reforms initiated under our previous business plan, several new priorities have been introduced to address current challenges and risks resulting from rapidly evolving technology as well as expanding market channels and product offerings.”

The Plan is designed to reflect CSA members’ commitment towards the continued protection of investors from unfair, improper and fraudulent practices as well as the ongoing efficient functioning of capital markets and reduction of risks to market integrity, through responsive regulation and regulatory national and international harmonization, where appropriate.

The CSA will also continue to ensure that regulatory reforms implemented over recent years are achieving their objectives. CSA members will look to identify opportunities to reduce undue regulatory burden and to streamline regulatory requirements without diminishing investor protection or impeding the efficient functioning of capital markets.

The CSA Business Plan for 2016-2019 outlines (18) priorities with action plans in four areas:

  • investor protection
  • fair and efficient markets
  • enforcement effectiveness
  • information technology

While the CSA will give priority to the Plan’s initiatives over the next three years, regulators are prepared to address any new issues and challenges that might arise in Canada’s evolving capital markets.

The CSA Three-Year Business Plan is available on the websites of the CSA and its various members.

The CSA is the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, which co‑ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

Alison Walker
British Columbia Securities Commission
Kristen Rose  
Ontario Securities Commission

Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge  
Autorité des marchés financiers

Jason (Jay) Booth
Manitoba Securities Commission

Andrew Nicholson
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick

Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Janice Callbeck
Office of the Superintendent of Securities

John O’Brien
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office

Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Northwest Territories

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan